Tatted Up: A Taboo in Religion and the Workplace?

Tattoos are one of the most expressive forms of individuality. I think it’s fair to say that most of the people in our generation have at least one tattoo, whether it’s in visible sight or not. Most that don’t have tattoos probably would like one. Tattoos in religion and in the workplace are the subjects that can be the big elephant in the room; everyone notices it but no one will ever really say anything about it. Tattoos are labeled a sin within religion and non-professional in the workplace. I’m not going to lie, I am pretty aware of both of these reasons and I still want a tattoo.

Now when I talk about religion on here it will probably only be about Christianity because that is my faith. I can’t speak about the practices of any others. Tattoos are labeled a sin because they deface the temple of God; which is the body He gave us on this earth. “Ye shall not make any cuttings in your flesh for the dead, nor print any marks upon you; I am the Lord” (Leviticus 19:28) Now this verse seems to be very confusing with the whole “dead” thing.  At the same time, if we followed this verse then the majority of us would be in sin because we have our ears pierced. I really don’t get it. I think the Bible is something that people tend to take the words so literally. Also, because the Bible has been interpreted so many times, the actual meaning could have been obscured. I do believe that it is saying that tattoos are a sin; but what if that tattoo was a Bible verse? Would that still be defacing the temple of God? Or could that be a way of promoting God’s word?

We all know that tattoos are frowned upon in the office place, especially a very corporate environment. I’m pretty sure that most of those types of people have their tattoos located in places that are covered by their oxford shirts and blazers. If you come in for an interview and you have a tatt on your neck, hands, or fingers, chances are your chance for that job just went out the window. It’s a harsh world but that’s the kinda world we live in. The corporate world has yet to compromise with the changes of our generation…or have they? Most celebrities are tatted to an extreme degree and they are accepted in the corporate world when it’s time to handle business. Is it just because of their fame that they are allowed? Or do they just only allow them to get to a certain level of professionalism? Are they even taken seriously? Even if that is the case, I guess you could say that we are making progress into accepting tattoos but on the other hand I think it will be a verrryyyy long time before we see a Senator or even our next President with visible tattoos.

So would I get a tattoo? Yes. Would I get one visible through professional attire? Probably not.

I wanted my tattoo to be a Bible verse anyways. LOL.

-T.L.C.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dupree D
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 01:20:51

    True true even tho tatts are not a sin tho. An you are not pose to put any thing about death of any kind tho. Celebs are doin there thing 50cent tatted up an he got clothing line an vitamin water an aything. It just there drive that takes them there.

    Reply

    • T.L.C.
      Sep 19, 2010 @ 01:32:54

      I just know that personally my pastor doesn’t agree with tattoos at all and in his opinion it is considered a sin according to his interpretation of the Bible. And I’ve grown up being taught with the same beliefs but at the same time it hasn’t stopped me from wanting one lol. I think that’s because after learning myself I don’t necessarily feel the same way totally. But like I said it’s all subjective to what you think about it. Yea it just makes you wonder how seriously they take celebrities that don’t necessarily “look” like what the corporate professional world should. I think the difference could be drawn to Jay-Z from 50 Cent. I’m not sure if Jay has tatts or not but he’s got a tremendous clothing line and he is part owner of a basketball team. 50 Cent is no where on that level. It might matter, it might not…interesting to think about though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

