Health Corner: Flaxseed

The name just makes it sound disgusting, but flaxseeds are really good for you in just about every way possible. It comes in different forms like liquid and ground seed, but the actual ground seed is the most effective way to consume it. Flaxseeds can help fight all kinds of things like heart disease, breast cancer, and diabetes, which all are prevalent in the black community. Taken every day, it helps balance your digestive system and overall it just makes you feel pretty darn good. Here are the main ingredients of flaxseeds courtesy of WebMD:

  • Omega-3 essential fatty acids, “good” fats that have been shown to have heart-healthy effects. Each tablespoon of ground flaxseed contains about 1.8 grams of plant omega-3s.
  • Lignans, which have both plant estrogen and antioxidant qualities. Flaxseed contains 75- 800 times more lignans than other plant foods
  • Fiber. Flaxseed contains both the soluble and insoluble types.

I’ll tell you guys a funny story. Now I’ve been taking flaxseeds since about my 2nd year (UVa lingo) in college. One time I just came home from break and my mom literally starting shoving this stuff down my throat.  If I didn’t have time to take my daily dose of flaxseed, I would put it in a plastic bag and carry it with me till I had time. So one time I took it to the library with me during finals and I pulled it out and put it on the table. Everyone was like OMG why would you pull out weed and put it on the table??? I thought that was pretty hilarious, and plus because my friends were curious as to what it tasted like I think I might have converted a few. That gives you a little idea of what the stuff looks like; just because the flaxseed has multiple shades of brown in it. In the picture, it shows both forms; the actual seed and the ground version. My ground seed version doesn’t look as sticky and inconsistent at that one though. It has a peanut taste to it, which was hard for me to swallow because I actually hate peanuts SMH. Anyways I encourage you all to give it a try, taken consistently,  it really makes you feel different. A good different.

-T.L.C.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trish
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 18:05:00

    I’ve never even thought about flaxseed! Glad you posted this. I’m definitely going to have to check it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

