The Age of Laziness?

Hopefully I am not the only one that is noticing this but I believe that we as a human race are slowly transitioning into the age of laziness. The age of laziness where everything can be done with the either voice, internet or by a simple touch. I believe that technology can be held as one of the most leading causes of obesity in adults and children; simply because we can find all the recreation we need in front of a tv, computer, or iPhone. I am more tech savy than most but even I can admit when it all starts to become out of control. For me, there are some things that I just refuse to hand over to technology such as:

Finding the person I want to marry. I don’t understand why people think they need to use online sites just to communicate with people that share their same interests. How many people really think that those commercials with real life stories are legit? Not to judge anyone, but I see online dating sites as a last resort for people that just don’t have the social skills to go out and find another individual that they share the same interests with.

The ability to think on my own. Am I the only one that sick of “recommendations”? Whether it be on iTunes or Netflix or any other thing that requires you to actually use your brain, they always offer some type of suggestion to help you think like you aren’t capable of making the decision on your own. I feel as though all of the suggestions we are given on a daily basis is the reason why we just can’t make simple decisions about anything. If you have something doing all the work for you why should you have to?

What would you like technology to stay away from? Let’s hear it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. CoatofHarms
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 03:29:02

    I don’t see those recommendations as a bad thing. I feel like they help to broaden my horizons and get me to look into things that I wouldn’t ordinarily come across. I personally think technology should stay away from driving. Computer operated vehicles are a little nerve-racking to think about (not too far from irobot lol).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

