When it Comes To Living Life-JUST DO YOU!!!

Over the weekend, I had an epiphany, a breakthrough. A few weeks ago, I had a conversation with a friend and we vowed that we would just enjoy life this year. We would take chances, travel more, do things we said we wouldn’t do, etc. Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you that I tend to over-analyze things and if you ask the right person, they will also tell you I care too much about what others think. I tried denying this when a friend or a relative would bring it up, but deep down I knew that they were true. I tended to care too much about the opinions and views of others rather than focus on what I want and what works best for me. This applied to every aspect of my life it seemed: mentally, physically, and even spiritually. I would want to do something, thought it out, get down to executing the plan and would give up, simply because I thought about how it may be perceived. However, this past weekend, I realized that at the end of the day, no one else is living my life, so I must live it to the fullest. Here’s how I plan to make this year worthwhile and hopefully you’ll follow:

  1. Setting up a mini “bucket list”-Now I don’t have any terminal illnesses that I know of that I must accomplish everything within a few months, but listing several things that I would like to do this year and actually doing them is a great idea. Whether its sky diving, rock climbing, or traveling overseas, I’m jotting it down!
  2. Creating a “goal board”- I figured I would finally put my bulletin board to good use after college instead of it collecting dust on the wall. Collect anything that you inspire to be or inspire to do and post them along with encouraging words and quotes for positive reinforcement. Think of this as the visual version of your bucket list.
  3. Cut out the negative– Anyone that always have negative views on everything and always have a pessimistic outlook on life, keep your distance. This also applies to yourself; cut out the “I can’t and I won’t,” and replace them with “I can and I will.” Negativity is an impediment of progression.
  4. Take Risks & Challenge Yourself– I tend to “play it safe” a lot. I’m opting out of that this year. You’ll never know unless you try right? One of my favorite quotes is by Samuel Beckett and it goes, “Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.” Sometimes I tend to view life’s challenges as either win or lose situations, or focus on the end results versus the process it took to get to the end; the trying, the failing and the trying again. I think that it is during this process when we challenge ourselves that we  learn the most valuable lessons.
  5. Just Do You- Forget about what others might think or say. Do what makes you happy! Whether it’s switching up your style, deciding to go natural, going back to school, changing career paths, etc. At the end of the day I see it like this: think 40 years down the road, when you’re old and gray and you’re surrounded by your grandchildren. Don’t you want a great life story to tell them? I sure do…
Leave a Reply

