The Key To Making Money According to Peter

I’m a hustler—I know how to flip it. I know how to get back on my feet. A lot of women out there don’t know how to do that. All [they] got is a 9-to-5 check coming. They don’t know how to flip it. They aren’t risk takers like men are. You feel me? You know, most women. Some women are.

-Peter Thomas, UPTOWN Magazine

After reading the Peter Thomas interview with UPTOWN magazine, I was left, 1. entertained and 2. intrigued. For those who don’t know of Peter Thomas, he is the husband to Cynthia Bailey of the Real Housewives of Atlanta reality show.  I was left entertained mostly for his tell-it-like-it-is personality and his blunt views on all of the Atlanta “housewives.” However, I was more intrigued at the above quote, particularly the latter half because one thing we women know how to do is get back on our feet.  It was just something about it that struck a chord with me, because it was something that I had always wondered about and quite frankly, he had a point.  I thought about this quote for a while and asked:

When it comes to money, why do women tend to play it “safer” than men?

 

After reading the article, a male friend and I discussed the quote. I instantly had an answer, or so I thought:

Me: I think women are less likely to take risks with  finances because we have more responsibilities, children for example.  With more and more women being the sole caretaker of their children, fathers have that option of taking risks, because if they happen to fail they have no one depending solely on them.

Friend: True, and you guys do like stability, but what about women with no children?

Hmmm….What about women with no children? Why are women so reluctant to take risks with  money? For example, there are plenty female Real Estate Agents, but fewer Real Estate Investors.  Read any book by Donald Trump or Robert Kiyosaki and the underlying theme will most certainly be TAKE RISKS.  I can’t speak for all women, but I do know we like to spend money.  When we work hard for something, regardless if your “work hard” definition is different from mine, we want to see it, possibly save some and enventually enjoy the fruits of our labor. Men, on the other hand, love to make money, specifically making more money than what they have.  Let’s just say that they’re never completely satisfied with what they have at the moment. If there is any chance of making or obtaining something that they don’t currently have and want, even if that means risking it, so be it; the thought of having more outweighs losing it all.  We women tend to think entirely different; granted,we DO apply that persistance and aggressiveness to success and our careers and really, who doesn’t like making money? However, when it comes to money and making more of it, we tend to have a “content” attitude. We know that there could be more of it coming in, but we’re happy with what we have at the moment, (insert: “I can’t complain” statement here).

Could it be for lack of knowledge? Fear of failure perhaps? Intimidation of the male dominated investing careers??? What is it? Guys, help a sister out, because if you don’t stop, then we won’t stop, continuously to, GET MONEY! The word according to Biggie

~THE QUEEN

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Go Cinderella!
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 18:10:11

    I love this topic and completely agree with your view points. I’ve actually thought of this very thing a while ago and just put it out of my mind. I can’t speak for other women, but for me it is the fear factor. I KNOW if I invested, I could potentially double, triple, even quadrupole my capital. But then I’m left hesitant and questioning; What if I fail? Can I bounce back from this? Is it really worth the risk? Am I entirely sure about this investment? If I am already this ambiguous, is it even worth a second thought? I’m sure I’d be much more comfortable in doing so once I’ve obtained more knowledge. I plan on doing just that by doing my own research and consulting with a few experts just to make sure I go about this correctly. I suggest that other uncertain spectators do the same.

    Reply

  2. Justina
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:24:29

    I was reading this article today http://www.dailyworth.com/blog/672-vanguard-asks-dailyworth-how-can-we-better-serve-women and it reminded me of this post. We as women are low person on the totem pole when it comes to investing our money, but it seems like investors and investing companies are looking to reach out to us and learn how to better service us.

    I also recommend this site (dailyworth.com) they have a lot of great financial tips for the everyday woman. I get their daily emails. Some are for me, and some are not, but I think it’s a great site for all women of today.

    Reply

    • THE QUEEN
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:32:45

      Thanks so much Justina for these links! I look forward to checking them out and hopefully they’ll help me out in the finance dept!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

