It’s All A Dream..But It Doesn’t Have To Be!

It’s Monday. The alarm clock goes off at some wee hour in the morning and you think to yourself, “here we go again..” You drag yourself out of the bed and proceed to do your morning rituals before heading off to the place you’ve been dreading…work. Let’s be real, most of us are doing something that we really don’t want to be doing career wise, but unfortunately the credit card bills and student loans won’t pay themselves. Many of us are in a limbo where we are still trying to figure out what we want to do with our lives; whether it be going back to grad school or a complete career change.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I rather be spending my youth traveling the world and doing things I’ve never done before. Go ahead, admit it. I know you all are daydreaming about the things you could be doing with your life while pushing papers; traveling to Europe, Africa, Egypt, you name it!

One thing I refuse to be is a middle aged woman settled in her career but has never seen the world. Most adults wait until retirement to do the things that they’ve always wanted to do; I’d rather spend my entire life experiencing everything this world has to offer.

On this Monday morning and every day, challenge yourselves to be outside of the box. No longer settle for the things you are doing now, but plan for your immediate future. Don’t let the boundaries of how you are suppose to live your live dictate the way you want to live your life.

So let’s hear it! If you could blow off doing the things that don’t interest you, what would you be doing? Dream Big!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Justina
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 16:18:17

    I’d be in Greece waking up every morning to the beautiful blue waters and stunning architecture while working on my crochet skills… Or in Barcelona or Costa Rica learning Spanish and eating deliciousness everyday (and running on the beaches to make sure I don’t look like I ate twice my weight)… And when I’m not traveling the world, I’d be making a positive change in education reform across America that will enable all children to obtain a quality education

    Reply

Leave a Reply

