It’s Valentine’s Day…

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Now that I got that over with let me get down to my real point. Most people say if you hate Valentine’s Day it’s because you don’t have a significant other and you’re bitter, blah blah blahhhhh. Totally not true! I have never been fond of Valentine’s Day, other than it happens to be my mother’s birthday. Call me evil but I also don’t like helping people celebrate Valentine’s Day, whether it be doing something to help surprise someone else or be a babysitter. Why oh why would you be so evil TLC?? Why wouldn’t you want to help a couple get some alone time away from the children??

Valentine’s Day is a man made holiday. I don’t like the fact that we have a designated holiday for showing love between one another. If it was any other day that you want to have a date night without kids then sure, but honestly I think it would be awesome if you spent Valentine’s Day together as a family. For some reason Valentine’s Day has been specified to the love between men and women. What about the children, family, or friends??

Why would you want to go out on a night where everyone else is doing the exact same thing?? Now you all are probably wondering whether TLC has a boo piece; the answer is no. Then you are probably saying well that’s why she’s ranting the way she is; definitely not. When the right guy comes along and we share our first “valentine’s day” honestly I wouldn’t put any pressure on him to do anything. We wouldn’t need to go out or buy presents. I wouldn’t need him to find ways to declare his love for me because I would already feel it in my heart. (awww) Now if he wants to do some creative stuff on his own they hey I’m all down haha.  The love that you guys feel on this day should be the way you feel all year around.

I don’t necessarily hate the day; I hate what the day represents in our society. I’m all for love, no doubt; but we need more love than just on this one day. We need to spread not only love to our significant others but also to our children, friends, and family. I encourage you guys to not only make your significant other feel special today but also all of the people around you. Continue to show that same love after this day ends. Sometimes you don’t need to do anything special; just letting someone know that you are thinking about them and love them is definitely enough.

SPREAD THE LOVE.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justina
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 17:25:41

    I completely agree! (And this is also what my mother taught me). She used to buy us gifts throughout the year, for no reason at all other than she saw something and thought we might like it. She didn’t wait until Christmas, Birthdays, Valentine’s Day, etc. to give us a gift. I love this aspect of my family. It is a way to show that you are always thinking about someone, and not just because there was a holiday/celebration telling you to show it.

    I’m the same way now as I no longer live with my parents. I would rather a random gift in June, when my birthday is in December. Or a random date night in May, when no love holiday is around the corner. It makes it more special to me. However, my boyfriend is one for holidays (he’s grocery shopping as I type to cook dinner a Valentine’s Day dinner). I appreciate the love he shows me on this day and every other day. But since he is one for holidays it is rare that I’ll get a random date night or “just thinking about you” gift. I am not saddened by this, I understand that not everyone was raised how I was raised and treated to random things throughout the year, so it’s not something they are used to. But he shows me love everyday and I am truly grateful for that. And when he does suggest a random date night or give me a surprise gift it’s even more special because I know it’s not what he’s used to.

    Reply

  2. Lamar
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 17:57:20

    I see where your coming from but I cant agree with the entirety of your statements. I believe Valentines is not a day to show love but more love. Most men show there love by giving foot rub or back rub, being a provider and even cooking for there spouse. But V day is a day to show even more love going above and. Beyond just like we do on birthdays, chistmas, and all holidays. It’s like how religious folk do. Religious people worship their god on a daily basis but they take one day out of the week to show god their undivided attention. Sometimes we have obligations such as jobs, family, and other distractions that takes us away from our love ones and V day is just another day to give your undivided attention to your loved one.

    Reply

    • T.L.C.
      Feb 14, 2011 @ 18:41:21

      I get exactly where you’re coming from and I agree with you! In terms of religion, those are rituals are based off of something more greater. Valentine’s Day is a day that we created, with no actual historical significance unless you go into Greek mythology which isn’t real. It’s a society conditioned holiday that makes us believe that this day is important. Any day can be “Valentine’s day”. I’m not saying that every day should be wonderful and lovely but how many times do we do those special things for our significant others or our children. Life does get in the way and I think that’s the reasons why relationships don’t survive.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

