When It Comes To Being Sexy, Should There Be A Limit??

 

"I'mma Kill 'Em Tonight Girl!!"

 

First I must say, like beauty, sex appeal is subjective. What I would deem sexy could be viewed as conservative or unattractive to someone else; everyone has their own interpretation of what is sexy. In Hollywood, celebrities are constantly pushing the envelope with their fashion to become relevant or to stay relevant. In a world in which you have 15 minutes to make your stardom known in order to last, it’s understandable. Yet, in the real world, there is a fine line between being sexy and just plain ole trashy. For example, yesterday, while looking at club pictures online, I stumbled upon a picture of SEVERAL, everyday women wearing textured tights as bottoms. Now, before you question, “what’s the harm in that?” keep in mind that their butts were exposed. No, their tops were not covering their butts, if so I wouldn’t have seen a huge problem with their ensembles. HOWEVER, there were exposed underwear, butt cheeks and all.  I couldn’t help but wonder about others who had visited the site and saw the pictures. Were their mouths on the floor as mine was when I saw the photo? I am sure someone who is reading this can relate to me on this issue. Seeing the scantily clad girl walking around in the club or any social function, thinking she looks good because she’s getting lots of male attention, but little does she know it is for all the wrong reasons.

Whatever happened to leaving something to the imagination? Judging by the lack of comments on the photo, have we become too desensitized to provocative clothing? Have these women, and the men who like this style of dress, made it harder for women who don’t feel they should have to wear swimsuits out to the club in order to get attention. Furthermore, have they made it harder for women in general to get respect at the club? I personally have always been a firm believer in the idea that tight and short does not automatically mean “sexy,” but what do you guys think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sexyblackgemini
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 14:56:29

    Ok first of all WTF is going on in the picture above!? Straight trife. Anyway, on to the topic at hand. I fully believe in being sexy and wearing sexy things, HOWEVER that does NOT consist of me showing my a** nor breasts. To me I think that’s sending out a wrong message. Now don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with wearing something a little short, but keep it respectful and have some tact & class. And by you wearing stuff like the above picture in the club that’s saying (in my opinion) let’s get it in after the club…I don’t need to get to know u. And that’s a very sad thing.

    Reply

  2. Eazye757
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 14:56:48

    If there goal was to be sexy they accomplished it the word means concerned predominately or excessively with sex. Seems less and less people use the adjectives beautiful or gorgeous anymore. As a man I like seeing some women dressed like that won’t lie but it does tell us up front only thing will come from this is sex. Couldn’t take a female serious if she doesn’t have enough self respect for herself to not show off everything her momma gave her in public. But that’s just me

    Reply

Leave a Reply

